Interpretation: Virgin and child

virginwithchild

 


Original: Virgin and child by Jean Fouquet ca. 1450

fouquet

 

I’ve been admiring Fouquet’s work for a long time, especially his major artwork Virgin and child. It was painted ca. 1450 in the Renaissance, yet it has a very modern aura. Personally, I find this painting is of a rare esthetic and for me, it has a contemporary flair. It’s a real ”Magnum Opus”, as you could say, of timeless beauty.

So my interpretation is in the contemporary illustration style. More simplistic in shape and colors than the original. My goal was not to reach the unreachable beauty of Fouquet’s artwork, my goal was to make a fun and stylish interpretation tending towards a ”pop” esprit.

Leave a Reply

